Tec, Where to begin??

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Zackery

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I am about to turn 18, and I want to become a technical diver. I have been diving for almost 9 years. I thought about becoming a DM, but I don't like the whole 'Glorified Assistant' thing:no:. (Sorry to all DMs out there) My uncle is a DM and he tells me just to stick to my rescue certification:depressed:. My uncle and I have the same skill set (I have a little on him), but the thing is I still have years of diving ahead of me. He has been diving for many years before he got certified. My question here is that I honestly have no idea where to start. I want to start off with deep tec diving. Then eventually move on to wreck penetration and cave diving. I know padi has a Tec40 course, but other than that clueless:idk:. I have about 200+ dives. A couple of them are small deco-dives. I have guided people since I was 16. I have even worked with instructors, but my craving for deeper depths and more knowledge leave me aching for more.. Any guidance would be appreciated (costs, courses, locations). I currently dive in the Florida Keys (Islamorada). I go about every summer, and try to make it down there a couple extra weeks a year. I an about to graduate High School, and may take a couple of weeks off of school and go down there.:D