Thailand in August - Andaman or Gulf? (or: Is Koh Tao really that bad?)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

RM

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Dear Scubaboard,

I'm hoping to get some friendly and frank advice on where to dive in Thailand in August. This is my first time time Thailand and I don't know when/if I'll be back.

I've heard that the best overall diving is in the Andaman Sea (Hin Daeng and Hin Muang sound awesome), though I'll be there during monsoon season, so I've had lots of advice to go to the Gulf. The reviews I've read of Koh Tao, however, make it sound overcrowded and, well, not really what I'm looking for.

So: Is August really that bad a time for diving the Andaman? Should I stick with the must-see sights on the Gulf? And, of course, is Koh Tao really that bad? Are there alternative launching pads?

Thanks very much,

Ralph

Having lived and dived from Koh Samui since the last 12 years, August is usually as good as it comes for diving in the Gulf between Samui and Koh Tao, especially Sail Rock can be awesome with some great viz and a good chance of whale shark sightings.

Diving at the Andaman Sea is good but this time of the year it can be rocky out there and the boats may not always be able to go out. In general it's probably better to dive there during the Oct/Nov-April but than again, you may get lucky.