What do you focus on?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Antagonist

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I am new to the underwater photography and I was just wondering what you all focus on when you are taking macro or any other photos. Do you always focus on the eyes with a F8-F11 or do you do take shots using F2 or so. What shutter speeds do you use for shooting reef fish or other divers? (wide angle)

One other thing if I may ask? HOW DO YOU ALL FIND THESE TINY ANIMALS? I see all these pictures of fish, but where do you look for them at? Research on the site, doubles filled with nitrox, and a magnifying glass? jk

I am using a sony rx 100 mk2 w/ sea and sea ys-01 single strobe

HOW DO YOU ALL FIND THESE TINY ANIMALS? I see all these pictures of fish, but where do you look for them at?
for macro creatures
- go slow
- learn where they live
many creatures have standard habitats that they frequent. If you see the proper type of habitat, you may find the creature.