Canon G16 -> 3 popular housings ->> what would be the real difference?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

yaronad

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I'm new to the underwater photography and about to upgrade / decide which underwater houseing to choose for the G16....
I have a big dilemma to choose 1 of this 4:
Recsea Canon PowerShot G16 Underwater Housing Waterproof Diving Case WHC G16 | eBay

Fantasea Line FG16 Underwater Housing for Canon PowerShot G16 Digital Camera | eBay

Ikelite 6146 16 Underwater TTL Housing for Canon G16 New Great Dive Recorder | eBay

Canon WP DC52 Underwater Housing Scuba Case for PowerShot G16 from Japan | eBay

The dilema is not just regarding the cost,
I intend to dive up to 130 feet ....and not that one of this "well known brands" housing... can "CRACK ?
correct me if I'm wrong ?
So why would I choose the RecSea aluminum house? for example ?

Eventually the most important thing is the O rings no ? and to preserve / treat them right + service the housing on time....
So, If I can reach all the functions of the camera? - why isn't the original Canon case a good option ? after all ?
Canon WP DC52 Underwater Housing Scuba Case for PowerShot G16 from Japan | eBay

please advise

thx in advance