video camera

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

dsdiver03

Reaction score
I'm new to the world of underwater video. Any advice on a good camera to buy and housing?

Research. Do a search here, on wetpixel and digitaldiver.net. I think the P330 is a favourite at the moment.

Decide on your budget and stick with it. There will always be new and improved stuff out there, so decide what features are essential and start shopping.

Make sure there is a housing available for the camera you want.

If you are just getting started, check out a second-hand or older model unit. The difference in quality is likely to be very small (probably not noticeable unless you are shooting professionaly) and the initial outlay of cash should be significantly less - think of it as money for the first diving holiday with your new rig!

dsdiver03:
I'm new to the world of underwater video. Any advice on a good camera to buy and housing?

DSDiver. There are many things to consider when making such an investment. First off, I would consider your budget as that will be the ultimate decision maker. However, I always tell people to think long and hard about what their goals are. Remember it is cheaper to do it right the first time, rather than regret not buying a better system once you really get into it and then having to upgrade into a new system.