Recommendations for starter video cam

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

AussieNSW

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi! I love underwater photography and think I will start getting into videography as well. I'm no professional and can't afford the professional stuff anyway, but I certainly can edit to make it look close to professional!

Currently my camera is just the old Olympus 1030sw with Ikelite housing, just the basic setup no external lights or lenses. The video on it is terrible since it's such an old model.

Can you recommend either a video camera or camera with good video option for me? I've been looking at the reviews for a GoPro 2, it seems like a decent option but the quality still isn't as good as I want I don't think. Is there another camera with HD professional looking quality but amateur price?? I guess that's what we all want haha.

I'd rather not go with Olympus again due to their poor customer service, but I guess I would if I had to.

Thanks for any advice!

If you are truly a beginner diver, 0-24 dives, then I say wait until you get another 50 dives under your belt before you invest in a video camera. Just my opinion, but beginners need to focus on safety and bouyancy, not trying to capture video or still photos. I am guilty of buying a camera as soon as I got certified, and I probably shouldn't have.