Andrea Doria Information Sought for Car Magazine Article

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Don Keefe

New
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am an automotive historian and writer who has researched the Andrea Doria
sinking for nearly 20 years because of a custom-bodied showcar that was lost in the disaster.

The car in question was the 1956 Chrysler Norseman, which was built by the
Italian coachbuilder, Ghia. While we are certain that the Norseman was
lost on the ship, there has been a persistent rumor that there were other Ghia-bodied
Chryslers on board, which would explain the disappearance of several of
these cars around that time.

My question to all of you here is this: Are you aware of any surviving records that
could support or prove this theory? I would suspect that a ship's manifest
could confirm whether these other cars were in the hold or the garage,
which was, as I understand, near the point of impact with The Stockholm.
Would you know of any other paperwork, photography or perhaps a maritime historical society that could point me in the right direction? I have tried contacting Ghia but have not received an answer as of yet.

I am researching an article for Hemmings Classic Cars on the Ghia Chryslers
and the amount of new information that I find could change the angle that I
will pursue in writing this article. Any help with this project would be
greatly appreciated and of course, noted in the text of the article. I
would be interested in quoting divers' perspectives in the article as well.