Adding air to BC (how often)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

novalyne

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi all. I am new to diving - I have my OW dives plus about 5 practice dives. I'm trying to learn as much as possible by reading ScubaBoard. My question is about when to add air to the BC.

I have done a weight check and am pretty confident that I'm properly weighted - or within a pound or two. I have not gotten deeper than 35 feet yet, and usually am around 25-30 feet. I haven't had a chance to just sit and practice hovering, but when I do stop for a short time, I notice a VERY gradual sinking even if I take a deep breath. This tells me I need to add air to the BC - usually by this point, I've added 2 or 3 very small puffs. I never rise up when I do these practice hovers, but I can't stay in exactly the same spot either...I just creep downward.

The reason I'm confused is because I was told by my instructor and another experienced diver that they never have to add air to the BC until they get to their desired depth and then level off. I get the impression that it's a bad idea to have to add too much air to the BC underwater. But as I get deeper, isn't adding air to the BC going to be necessary?