Andrea Doria Discussion

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

AhoyFed

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hello. I’m newly registered but not new to the forum, been a “lurker” for a couple years reading many threads but never registered until now. A bit about me, I’ve been diving for 6 years always recreationally and have done about 50 dives. Not always able to dive as often as I’d like between work and family but I try to do about 10 a year.

The story of the Doria fascinated me before I was a diver, and it is still cool now. I’m not sure if I think of it as the Everest of diving, but a cool wreck nonetheless.

I’d like to train over the next few years and work my way up to doing the Doria. If I fall short and conclude my training before reaching the Doria due to reaching my limits, no problem. Not worth dying for.

What courses would you recommend, as well as gear setup? I’m very flexible with gear as I have a bunch of steel 72s as well as aluminum 80s, plus bands and manifolds. Used to run double 72s for a couple years. I’d prefer to do it on OC rather than CCR.

Feel free to chime in and add anything you feel is worthwhile.

Gonna need bigger tanks. Get used to double 130’s and save the 80s for stage/deco bottles. It will (should) take a few hundred dives and many courses to dive that deep safely. It will also cost a small fortune, especially once you get to trimix on OC. If you dive at that level as often as you should to maintain skills, CCR starts to look attractive.