Apeks BP/W Setup Question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Aflick

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I recently purchased an BP/W setup that mostly consists of APEKS gear. I am new to BP/W's and am looking for a little advice.

I purchased the APEKS WTX D30, SS back plate, web harness and surelock weight system (incase I need it). Additionally, I purchased a ScubaPro x-tec single tank adapter with tank straps (which seems to be the source of the problem).

I have tried routing the tank straps through the SP single tank adapter, WTX30, backplate and back and am finding that the tank straps (and grommets) don't align well with the WTX 30 and backplate. In fact, when I align the screws, the tank straps are pinched since the holes don't align.

Has anybody had experience with this setup? Will it work or do I need to switch over to the Apeks single tank adapter? If so, will the SP tank straps work?

Perhaps I am routing it the wrong way...

Are you saying you're trying to route the straps through the STA and the BP/wing too? The straps route through the slots on the STA only, which is then bolted to the BP, with the wing sandwiched between them. This is what the Halcyon version looks like: Extreme Exposure

Are you saying you're trying to route the straps through the STA and the BP/wing too? The straps route through the slots on the STA only, which is then bolted to the BP, with the wing sandwiched between them. This is what the Halcyon version looks like: Extreme Exposure