Australia open water cert

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

drscotch

New
Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to the sport and forum. My wife and I just completed our classroom and pool training (SSI) and are looking forward to doing our OW certs on our trip to Australia in March. We're landing in Sydney and taking a month or so to make our way to Cairns. We'd like to do a liveaboard/diving trip at some point.

My immediate questions are:
1. Should we do our OW cert early on in the south or wait until we're farther up the East Coast towards Cairns.
2. Are we better off doing the cert before the liveaboard?
3. Are there any specific shops you'd recommend for the OW cert &/or liveaboard?

Thanks in advance.

The Scuba Diving Destinations section of this board has a forum dedicated to Australia & the Pacific Islands. You'll see it just a little way down the board from the General Travel Discussions forum where you chose to post.

As such, I have taken the liberty of moving your question to that forum in hopes that it may receive a more comprehensive response.

As a new member, I welcome you to familiarize yourself with the board. It has a lot going on.

Best regards.

DocVikingo

Well if you can handle the colder temperatures of the south, by all means finish up there. There is indigneous life there you will not see anywhere else in the world.
I'd do it before a liveaboard for sure... in fact I'd get as many dives as possible.

Hi Dr Scotch.

To answer your questions....

My immediate questions are: