BCD for short, but not tiny, woman

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

cspott

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello,

I am new to diving. I just finished my PADI open water diver certification and am starting to look for my own equipment. I had a bit of trouble with the rental gear as it just didn't fit correctly.

I am 4'11" and weigh 135lbs, so I am short, but not tiny. I have now stumped two dive shops for getting me into a BCD which properly fits.

Does anyone here have any recommendations? Do I needs to start asking for children's equipment?

Any advice is appreciated.

Thank you!

Hello,

I am new to diving. I just finished my PADI open water diver certification and am starting to look for my own equipment. I had a bit of trouble with the rental gear as it just didn't fit correctly.

I am 4'11" and weigh 135lbs, so I am short, but not tiny. I have now stumped two dive shops for getting me into a BCD which properly fits.

Does anyone here have any recommendations? Do I needs to start asking for children's equipment?

Thank you!

Hi cspott-

I'm 5'2 and dive a Zeagle Zena. I'm very happy with the fit. Because all of the panels can be ordered separately you can customize it to your specific size. It took me a while to get used to but I love it. Make sure you work with someone who knows how to fit it. I ended up having to swap out some of the components that were the wrong size.