Beginner diving suggestions in July

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Boglefish

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hi all,

I am new to diving (under 20 dives) looking for suggestions to dive in July for 2 weeks (any location). I will be traveling alone and plan on hiring a dive guide. What place will have a balance of good diving, food and reasonable costs?
Appreciate all your feedback.

My trip of choice is Cozumel. I went there the first time on a trip home from Saudi. Everyone on here has their favorite location. With you being in Saudi Arabia, I'm sure folks like @Diving Dubai and @RainPilot can offer suggestions for that region. I also enjoyed the Red Sea while I was living in Riyahd. We always took our newbie divers there. For "fun" a group of DM's and Instructors would rent a huge houseboat out of Dhahran from Wednesday thru Friday. That took a bit of organization, but it was GREAT fun. Saw my first sea snake on one of these trips and my first whale shark, which I "rode". It was quite thrilling. Wouldn't do that now, but I was young and dumb back then - 1986. I have NO idea what it's like today. Good luck. Stay safe and Have FUN! Welcome to the sport/hobby!!!!

Cheers -

Edit: Rechecked my log books and changed 1987 to 1986 (October 2, 1986 - 32 yrs 5 mos. 4 days ago)