Buoyancy Propulsion and Trim

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Bigd2722

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Recently spent a few days in the Keys taking a couple of classes from "Netdoc". The first class was Pete's insane (his words on the web site) Bouyancy Propulsion and Trim. Now, I have 19 years experience and over 600 dives so I don't qualify as a beginner, but I always felt that buoyancy was not my strong suit. We did this class over 3 days, although I'm sure you could make more or less of it depending on your schedule. Our first day was in the pool and consisted of working on proper weight, practicing air share and propulsion using mostly frog kick style. Pete has a couple of exercises involving weights that help you realize how much wiggle room you have in order to be not over or under weighted. The second day was at Cannon Beach in Pennekamp State Park. There's an interesting history to the area as it was used as a practice site for D Day. We also saw a free swimming frog fish. A first for me. The third day was a bonus in that we got to dive the Bibb. I had never had the opportunity before and really enjoyed it. It did not strike me as an especially advanced dive although it has that reputation. Perhaps we just caught it on a good day. There were another couple on the boat who completed their 32nd dive and still manage to survive. In short, the time was well worthwhile to me for the tips and tricks I picked up, the diving (always a good thing), and the multitude of stories Pete has to share. I