Buy Once, Cry Once DIR rig for recreational diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Cowtown44

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I'd like to purchase the entire rig for DIR diving and taking classes with GUE. As the title says, I'm willing to pay for a rig I only have to buy once. I am a beginner and have 12 dives under my belt (PADI OW certification). All dives have been in cold water off CA coast in a Scubapro drysuit (already purchased). Stats: 5'11", 180#, good physical conditionMost of the diving will been off the CA coast although I'd like to be able to take the rig to tropical destination as well. If modifications are required to convert between cold and warmer water, please list. PMs are welcome if you'd prefer to respond in that manner. Thanks in advance!

"One wing to rule them all..."

myprecious1.jpg

I dive a Halcyon steel plate for single tanks in warm or cold water and AL doubles when travelling. Use a Halcyon AL plate for double steel tanks in cold water at home. Halcyon wings: 30 Eclipse for singles, 40 Evolve for AL doubles, 60 Evolve for Steel doubles.

ebay it.

A plate isn't going to wear out, wings are typically OK unless they look ridiculous, and scubapro mk(xx) and g250s can be rebuilt worldwide.

For instance, there's an older model Pioneer 36 on ebau right now for 99 bucks with cam straps. I've had a pioneer for like 10 years and its great.

Personally, I dive a steel backplate at home (Northern California). I use it with steel singles and doubles.