CHDK Hack - possible added functionality to some Canon Cameras

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

TEERLKAY

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
There’s a lot of mis-information, mis-conceptions and questions about the “CHDK hack” available for many canon cameras. While I’m no expert I am a very satisfied user and I did extensive research prior to loading it. Hopefully what follows will provide some useful information. Most of it is either taken from or paraphrased from the link at the end.

For many canon owners there is a possibility to get additional functionality out of their camera.

Commonly referred to as the “CHDK HACK”, in reality CHDK is a firmware enhancement that operates on a number of Canon cameras. CHDK gets loaded into your camera's memory upon boot up (either manually or automatically). It resides on the SD card, taking up around 320k of space. It provides additional functionality beyond that currently provided by the native camera firmware. CHDK is not a permanent firmware upgrade-you decide how it is loaded (manually or automatically) and you can always easily remove it.

How does it work?