Choking and difficulty breathing

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

deignor

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I am a beginner diver in an Open Water class and I had some problems in my second pool session that have me concerned. I had no problem taking off my mask and putting it back on BUT I couldn't clear it to save me. I ended up snorting and/or swallowing a lot of water, panicked, ended up on the surface- gasping for air. I could barely breathe for over a minute and when I finally inhaled it was very little air with a loud wheezing sound.
It felt like my epiglottis was covering my trachea. I have had this happen a few times on land - if I force myself to relax and not panic, I seem to be able to eventually breath normally. It usually happens when I have some kind of sugary food previously. Should have avoided the donut the instructor offered me ! Is it a laranyx spasm?
My instructor suggested a new mask with a better fit- I went ahead and got a great new mask and snorkel. I have concerns about this happening in 30 feet of water. I could ascend but I also have difficulty exhaling when it happens.
Help! I am scared about my class tomorrow.