Coconut Water for cramps?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

WOODMAN

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Here is an odd question which I have not seen covered anywhere here, although I admit I have not looked very far. In a couple of posts I have seen mentioned using coconut water (coconut milk?) as a deterrent to getting cramps, especially after diving. I am a medical professional, but I have never heard of this. Does anyone have any info or experience with this? This is probably in the wrong forum, but I thought I would start here.:popcorn:

It works for me...I ride my bicycle 25-50 miles a day and susceptible to leg cramps. CM works wonders and I drink some prior to each dive to fend off leg cramps while diving. YRMV?

It's a good source of Potassium, which is beneficial in cramp prevention.