College Student Looking for Internship-Geology/Environmental Science/SCUBA

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

misstopsail

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hi there!
I'm currently a sophomore Geology and Environmental Science major at Miami University of Ohio, and an AOW diver. I am looking for an internship for summer 2010 in either one of my majors, or something related to diving, located somewhere in the USA (except for Columbus, Ohio).
If anyone has any suggestions of good programs to look into, i'll take whatever help i can get.
Or maybe you're a researcher and need a research assistant/slave/gear mule. I'm your girl.
Or maybe you own a LDS and need someone to help out around the shop (we could work something out where you instruct me and i run the shop for free!)
I spent last summer working as an environmental education intern for the NPS. I'm a hard worker, a quick learner, and would love any advice you can offer!

From the AAUS eSlate Publication:

Channel Islands National Park Internship
Channel Islands National Park's Kelp Forest Monitoring Program has a Student Conservation Association (SCA) internship available from February -November, 2010.
The intern will assist with all aspects of the Park's long-term kelp forest monitoring program (KFMP). The KFMP has conducted annual monitoring around the five Park Islands since 1982 and has recently added sites to evaluate new marine reserves. The intern will collect data on population dynamics of up to 70 species of fish, invertebrates and algae.