Dive Alaska

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jencks23

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
My family and I are planning a cruise to alaska in two years and I am starting to do some research about doing some diving while we are in port. Any tips?

If you google Ketchikan Alaska scuba diving you will get multiple hits.

We chose to do a fishing charter as opposed to diving while there - so I have no personal experience with the diving.

Went on two cruises...enjoyed them very much../ no diving

Pulled our travel trailer from California to Alaska - gone 3 months...no shore diving - all by boat charter-was not prepared to dive and not interested in diving

Visited two shops ...not Impressed with shops. both trained in summer and sponsored trips to tropics in winter

In Anchorage there is a good used book store crammed with modern and vintage used diving books

enjoy your trip -- dress warm

SDM

Wind and Water is the dive shop in Ketchikan, but it will be very difficult to combine diving with a cruise. They don't offer guided dives or tours, so unless you show up prepared to dive as an experienced coldwater drysuit diver, it probably won't work out. That said, Southeast Alaska has very good quality shore diving.

In Ketchikan, you might also take a look at Snorkel Alaska, who caters to cruise ship passengers. They don't offer dive tours, but there's a lot to be seen in our top 20 feet of water.