DIVE DRY WITH DR. BILL #863: MYSTERIES OF THE DEEP I

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

drbill

The Lorax for the Kelp Forest
Scuba Legend
Rest in Peace
Reaction score
# of dives
2500 - 4999
DIVE DRY WITH DR. BILL #863: MYSTERIES OF THE DEEP I

Some 50 years ago I was a young marine biologist starting out on my first serious research since graduating from college. We were sampling drifting Macrocystis kelp rafts (aka paddies) to see what critters might be on them or following them. The hypothesis was that drifting kelp rafts could provide a convenient (and energy efficient!) way for critters without pelagic larvae to disperse to new habitats such as Catalina.

Being new to the fauna of the Pacific (and before my classmate Al Gore "invented" the Internet) , I often had to seek help from experts to ID what I found. One day I discovered a critter on the blades of a drifting kelp that I had no clue about. I wrote my mentor, Dr. H. Barraclough Fell, at Harvard's Museum of Comparative Zoology using the ancient technology of a letter and included a drawing of the critter. I stated it looked like a Hoover vacuum cleaner with wings... not that I knew anything about vacuum cleaners back then either. Still don't!