Diving Adelaide

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Scubamat

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
New addict here and can't wait until my next SEA holiday to dive. I'm visiting family near Adelaide over Christmas and want to get some dives in. I'm a newbie on my own what are the good options for easy dives guided or finding a dive buddy. I have a full 3mm plus hood gloves and boots will thus be enough for summer diving or should I rent a suit or pick up a vest to wear in addition. Also need to do some dive related shopping as dive shops as none exist in my part of Oz where do the locals recommend.

I'm staying near Gawler and will likely head over Port Pirie at some so anywhere reasonable driving distance is on the books.

Hi Matt, Suit will depend on your tolerance for cold. Expected water temps near Adelaide would range from 18* to 22*C in December, a 3mm suit will likely leave you feeling cold if you are acclimatised to Darwin temperatures.

I use a 7mm torso / 5mm limbs wetsuit with hood, gloves and boots right through summer in Melbourne (comparable temps) and switch to a drysuit through the colder months.

As a new diver moving from tropical to temperate water. I suggest you start with one or two simple dives to get used to the increased buoyancy swing and reduced mobility that thicker wetsuits cause, you'll also need to dial in your weighting to compensate for the thicker suit.