Do SSI e-learning material expire ?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

BlueTrin

Scallops aficionado
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I have never done a SSI course before.
I am thinking of doing the wreck specialty.

The shop told me that I will get an electronic version of the manual, will that expire or will I get access to it forever ?

My son recently got OW through SSI.... his SSI account now has access to that course academics forever (to include updates as it changes)

I have never done a SSI course before.

The shop told me that I will get an electronic version of the manual, will that expire or will I get access to it forever ?

As a computer systems guy, I would say, "Probably for a long time. Doubtful that it'll be forever."
Companies buy companies. New companies have policies different from the original companies. Technology often changes and at some point an executive with a differing agenda doesn't want to pay for data migration. There can be a plethora of reasons why "forever" might not be a valid expectation. I suspect, as of today, they intend for you to have access for the foreseeable future.

how are SSI e-learning materials made? - are they plain html pages, or PDF file embedded into website, or Flash application?
PADI online materials are Flash which is a total disaster.

As a computer systems guy, I would say, "Probably for a long time. Doubtful that it'll be forever."