Does sea sickness medications effect airtime?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
Hi,

I use a lot of air. It's really annoying. I am new to scuba and trust that practice will pay off in the long run...

But I am looking to reasons why I might be using more. I am very fit, but know that I worry a lot in my head and need to improve buoyancy too.

There are plenty of articles about how to use less air, so what my specific new question here is "does sea sickness medications effect the amount of air you use?". I usually take some Dramamine and it does knock me around because of the cocktail between caffeine and relaxants. Any insights or suggestions?

Thank you in advance :)

You are new to scuba, that accounts for more air consumption than some marginal difference some medication might make. Being very fit is a good thing, but it does not directly relate to better gas consumption, because the way you breathe for workout will not be efficient and use more air than you need for diving.

Priority of skills to master for new divers

I am fairly new to scuba and my experience is that my sac went lower:
  • As I improved my trim and buoyancy, so I move less to do the same thing. I also spend less air inflating/dumping from the BCD.
  • As I got used to be underwater, most things did not require as much mental effort. For example checking your air will not require for you to find your SPG. Or blowing a DSMB will become easy and not require as much focus