DSD Fatality suit. Brooks v. PADI

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

JohnnyC

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
I'm a Fish!
Didn't see this posted anywhere here. A friend e-mailed me this pdf. today. Any legal people wanna take a gander and throw out an opinion?

Attachments

• Brooks v. PADI Complaint.pdf
    1.4 MB · Views: 686
I am not a lawyer but I imagine PADI's lawyers will argue that the shop in question was not conducting DSDs in accordance with the standards they set/published. The PADI instructor manual defines "confined water" and the cove the shop chose does not match the definition per the document. I can see the shop/instructor as being held liable, but think the claims against PADI may be a bit specious.

I imagine a large settlement will be payed out which will never fully compensate the surviving family and friends for their loss.

-Z

Didn’t open it, but if negligence wasn’t present, then just another money grabbing suit were folks refuse to take responsibility for their own actions...

Didn’t open it, but if negligence wasn’t present, then just another money grabbing suit were folks refuse to take responsibility for their own actions...

Had you read the document you would know that your statement while might be true in some cases, is off the mark in this one.

-Z