Ear trouble days later

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Ben_S

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi, I’m fairly new to diving and am having my first ear trouble. I’ve scanned these forums and am not finding the info I’m looking for, but apologies if I missed it and am reposting!

I was diving about 2 days ago in Koh Tao, and on my last of 4 dives my ears felt a bit funny on the way up (like they needed to pop). I was concerned about a reverse block but I equalized a few times and while the feeling didn’t go away it wasn’t painful and I was able to surface. Subsequently I learned equalizing on way up not smart. Dive was 18m and did safety stop (feeling occurred before and after stop)

Now 36hrs later the feeling is still there: like I need to pop ear but cannot, or maybe like it has water in it that cannot escape, either way it feels full and hearing is a little worse. I was also woken up due to pain last night but that subsided with ibuprofen.

I have tried multiple things:

Valsalva - feels like it goes halfway to popping but hits a block and I don’t want to force it. Afrin and Sudaphed, hot compresses, every manner suggestion about wiggling jaw, pulling on ear lobes, reverse valsalva, swallowing with head tilted, etc. Nothing seems to help, ear feels the same.

I have a couple of thoughts which I listed below but would really appreciate the collective expertise of this forum.

Did I damage inner ear equalizing on way up and the feeling is simply that damage.