Eardrum pain from water slap?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Javik

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I am practicing learning to swim at a local community pool. I don't have any SCUBA training yet, though I may see if I can do a Discover Diving in a pool to try it.

I'm slowly moving up to more advanced things. Just this last week I started practicing ways to jump in at the deep end face-first wearing various masks and goggles, a full wetsuit, and fins, learning about holding the mask jumping it, adjusting tightness for goggles and diving, etc.

On Monday I probably dived in face first about 20 times. I'm not sure you would even call it diving. I am basically tipping forward face-first standing at the edge of the pool in the deep area. It's the first time I ever did that, lots of water up the nose.

Due to me wearing big split-fins, I can't use the ladder, have to quickly pull myself up at the edge of the pool in the deep end, get a knee wedged on deck, pull myself on deck fully, and stand up. Bit of a challenge and very hard on my shin bones due to the raised tiled pool edge. Ow. Buying some shin guards to wear in pool the next time I try that.

Also my ears sorta felt uncomfortable jumping in face first, but I figure I'm just not used to this and will need some time to deal with these new forces and pressures.

My shin bones hurt a lot after that, so I stopped going swimming for a few days..