Earning a Living From Scuba.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hya Everyone,

I am new to Scuba Board.

Just wondered if there is anyone out there that could tell me if it possible to earn a reasonable living as a Padi Instructor or Course Director. Or is it better to start my own business and employ

instructors.

Just putting the feelers out

Many Thanks

Nigel B

Welcome to the board.

There are people who do make a living doing the options your describing. So yes, it is possible. If it is possible for you, the world will confirm if you try. Are you intending to support a family and also retire eventually?

It's worth noting the skillset of being a business owner is considerably different than being an instructor employed by another. I recommend taking a hard look at your abilities, background and desires. Recreational diving is a tough and saturated market anywhere I've seen.

Regards,
Cameron

No... Run away from those crazy ideas... Diving will no longer be fun, it'll be a job...

Jim

Hi Nigel,

It is possible to make a career out of diving but it's unlikely that you can do that in your local area. The situation isn't exactly the same but I live and work in the Netherlands and even with 15 years of experience as a pro it would be hard for me to find a job as an instructor that paid minimum wage.

In fact, I would say that outside of the tropics pretty much any diving instructor making even minimum wage would think he had won the lottery.