Full Face Masks

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

MikadoWu

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hello All,

My dive buddy wants to start diving his full face all the time, including technical dives. For me, I have never seen anyone on the boats diving a full face mask. I am sure it is done, just have not seen it. I am new to Tech Diving, and have only dived in Ft Lauderdale, Key Largo, and Bufford.

Is there a reason I have not see it or are they not used often?

It’s extraordinarily rarely done and only when absolutely necessary (like wouldn’t be asking this question if it was in your use case). Things complicated by FFM:
Gas switches
S-drills
Backup mask deployment
Gas donation

Using gas switch blocks underwater is extraordinarily farm animal stupid. See other threads debating this in the search section of SB.

I am doing tech training and have a ffm, would use it on dives not requiring gas switching or anything over 130fsw...after doing SDI FFM and some practice I can get the FFM off in under 3 sec, and you dont need eyes for valve shutoffs or switching regs anyway...I would put the FFM on the short-hose and secondary on a necklace that would allow you to pull it away...like an octo holder<TG>

It’s extraordinarily rarely done and only when absolutely necessary (like wouldn’t be asking this question if it was in your use case). Things complicated by FFM:
Gas switches
S-drills
Backup mask deployment
Gas donation