Full Gear for Newbie

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

tubbyka

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I've been diving every summer for 5 years now. We usually dive once, maybe twice a year, always in the Caribbean, mostly Cozumel, but this summer we're trying Curacao. I really want my own gear now, but really don't know what to do. I've been to the local dive shop and asked tons of questions. I just want to make sure I'm investing in the right stuff, especially when it's a lot of money.

I'm 6'4", 290, so I'm assuming a XXL BCD is right for me? I always use resort stuff and it's either an XL or XXL. Can I buy used or is it best to just go in and get fitted, then buy it there? Is there that much of a difference in sizes between manufacturers? If I only dive once or twice a year, how much should I be looking at investing, or does that matter?

I'm also needing my regulator and octo, as well as guages, maybe even a computer.

Any suggestions or advice as to where to look or what to get is very much appreciated!

I live in Dallas and use this place, Scuba Equipment, Scuba Gear Scuba Diving Equipment Discount dive gear Snorkeling Equipment and Wetsuits Cheap online

I'm 6'4", 290, so I'm assuming a XXL BCD is right for me? I always use resort stuff and it's either an XL or XXL.

With a guy your size, your best bet is a Harness style BC. You can either go with a soft pack (DiveRite Transpac) or a BP & Wing (Halcyon Eclipse or Infinity System or DiveRite).