Gag Reflex

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ChrisEdwards

Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Total newbie here, but very determined. I do my OWC next weekend.

I did a resort dive a few weeks ago, which was a couple of hours in a pool and two 45 minute dives off Key West, one on one with an instructor.

So yesterday, I'm checking out my new gear, as I said I'm very determined and have already purchased everything. I want to take the class in my gear and learn with it, if somethings not quite right from an equipment standpoint, i'll deal with it later.

Anyway,to my problem/concern, I'm six feet down at the bottom of my pool, breath in and I start to rise, breath out and I sink, both very slowly.

After 25 minutes, I've counted about every dead inspect and leaf about 17 times, when all of a sudden I get this gag reflex with the regulator where I feel I have to get the regulator out of my mouth. I fight this for a few seconds and then start to cough as if choking, still retaining the regulator in my mouth. Eventually, the only way I could clear it was to surface and breath through my nose for a few seconds.

I'd never had this happen while snorkeling and it didn't happen during my resort dives.

I do have a strong gag reflex to foreign things in my mouth and it's usually quite hard for my dentist to get X-Rays.

I bought an Atomic B2 regulator and a Z2 Octo, they both use the same mouthpiece. The mouthpiece seems quite firm and rigid.