Halfway There - Augusta, GA - New Diver

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I'm new to the sport. About halfway through my SSI training for basic open water. The end goal is drift diving or exploratory and scavenge/salvage diving. I just finished buying all my gear and now I have to take it to the dive shop to get it checked out, certified, and get those obligatory sideways glances, "Why didn't you buy this stuff from us?"

I'll be filling out my profile as I go along, but I am glad to be part of the community.

Welcome, I am originally from Augusta. My brother and family still lives there. When will you have all your check out dives completed?

Da Wolf - I believe my checkout dives are end of June/Beginning of August. Word on the street is that some of the check-out will be at Clarks Hill and then finish up at Savannah River for a drift dive.

I see you have Matthews, NC for your location. I lived in Indian Trail for awhile. Small World.

howdy and welcome from southeast florida.....good luck with your salvage diving....i hear there is a gold bar waiting for you on the gold coast.

... I just finished buying all my gear and now I have to take it to the dive shop to get it checked out, certified, and get those obligatory sideways glances, "Why didn't you buy this stuff from us?" .

Don’t put up with even one ounce of lip from any dive shop about your gear or where you bought it!
>you: can you service this brand reg? >>them: yes, or no.