Help a Newbie out with some gear advice

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

GARuther

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Dear DIR Divers,
I am fairly new to diving - been in the water about a year and a few months. I have just over 50 dives under by belt, including a fair number of wrecks (no penetration, of course). I am very interested in DIR diving, and so are two of my more experienced dive buddies. I am talking to an instructor about doing a GUE Primer course and then fundamentals etc... I bought all of my gear when I started diving, and as you can imagine, some of it is DIR compatible, while much of it needs to be replaced.
I want to get some basic stuff asap, so I can start getting used to it before my course in September. I am starting with a backplate, harness and wing system. I know that Halcyon is considered the king of the heap, and I can see why from a design and quality standpoint. My question is are there any other good brands I should consider? I know that DiveRite, for example, does what looks like the exact same configuration as the Halcyon Eclipse system for about $500 instead of the nearly $800 price of the Halcyon. Is there a big reason not to consider this rig or others in that price range that have the same basic design? I hope this isn't a stupid question. Also, how do DIR divers usually address the need to drop weights? I know that minimal weight is a key part of DIR, but does that mean you're stuck with the weight you splash with?
Thanks in advance for the help.
Cheers,
Adam