Holding Breath When Diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jw2013

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
When diving, I've read it's good to control your depth by breathing - for example, if I am swimming a wreck and want to lift a meter to drop into a doorway or window, I can breath in and I'll rise, drop in and continue.

I then read this is a *dangerous practice at any depth* due to the physics of air expansion and potential lung damage?

Can anyone offer advice here please?

Thank you!

I'm no expert, so take this with a grain of salt. I've been reading on buoyancy control by breathing, and getting longer dive times/getting the most of your tank by controlled breathing. I've learned that you can take in a breath and hold it to ascend a foot or two, or to get the most out of every breath of air by holding it in for a second or two. The trick is that you breathe in and always keep your esophagus/airway open. Don't close of the back of your throat! So if the air expands it's free to exit your lungs. Hope this makes sense. :)

You gotta breath sometime---which includes inhaling & exhaling.........Just go thru shorter doorways & windows??--maybe??.....:)

You don't really need to hold your breath to achieve this.