How can GUE/UTD work with so few instructors?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Coldwater_Canuck

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
This is kind of a curiosity question since I'm a long ways from tech, although I may take a funadmentals class at some point.

But I'm looking on GUEs site, and in the United States there are only 5 technical instructors, and only one who can teach the Tech 3 class. Is technical training for most people even an option with them unless the person wants to travel to California or whatever to take the class?

UTD looks like they have some really cool classes: 4 rec, 4 tech, 7 overhead including wreck and cave, 8 or so specialties, 2 DPV, and 2 rebreather: how is this even possible with a grand total of 9 instructors in the USA?

So what is the deal with these agencies? How is it possible to offer so many classes with so few instructors?

"How is it possible to offer so many classes with so few instructors?"

I'm not sure what you mean. They structure courses based on their paradigm(s) as to what is necessarily to bring a diver to mastery level in various environments, not on how many people are able to teach them.

"Is technical training for most people even an option with them unless the person wants to travel to California or whatever to take the class?"

Most students who aren't lucky enough to live near GUE or UTD instructors fly them out for training.

So what is the deal with these agencies? How is it possible to offer so many classes with so few instructors?