How do you not get water up your nose when you remove your mask?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

EFB

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello! Hubby and I are reading our PADI handbooks in preparation for our OW course. How do you keep water from going up your nose when you remove your mask? I will have to keep my eyes shut because I wear contacts and going without them is not really an option because my vision is pretty poor. I know you can get masks with prescription lenses (but I am really new to this and also, I would have to wear the mask on the boat to be able to see...I wouldn't want to deal with glasses that could easily be broken).

SO..I see me standing there with my eyes shut tight..sucking water up nose and choking..please tell me this is not the case.

Thanks

There are divers here with a lot more experience than me, but I think they'll tell you the same things.

1. Not likely, as you will have air in your sinuses and nose when you remove your mask. A very tiny exhalation will blow out any water that may enter your nostrils.

2. Practice removing your mask while having your face submerged in your sink/tub/pool. This will help with the anxiety.