How to set RAW white balance w/ PhotoShop?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DrDave

Registered
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I'm new to u/w photography (and PhotoShop). Reading this board, I've seen people suggesting using RAW for ultimate flexibility. That makes sense and I've tried that. However, my problem now is figuring out how properly to set the white balance in Photoshop CS using the RAW image file. So far, it seems easier to set it manually with my camera (Canon PowerShot S60), but that can't be right. Can anyone offer tips, or refer me to a tutorial?

Thanks loads,
Dave

DrDave:
I'm new to u/w photography (and PhotoShop). Reading this board, I've seen people suggesting using RAW for ultimate flexibility. That makes sense and I've tried that. However, my problem now is figuring out how properly to set the white balance in Photoshop CS using the RAW image file. So far, it seems easier to set it manually with my camera (Canon PowerShot S60), but that can't be right. Can anyone offer tips, or refer me to a tutorial?

Thanks loads,
Dave

When I pull in a RAW file with PS, the first thing I get is the RAW conversion tool. This has sliders for WB/Exposure/Hue/Saturation/Tone on the first page, and two tabs that allow for stuff like sharpening, and Level's adjustments.

This is CS, so if you are running PS7 you will have to use the Canon tools to mess with RAW files.

RonFrank: