Hyperbaric Nursing?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

TheAvatar

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
How would a nursing student work toward a RN career in hyperbarics?

I'm not even specifically looking to work in a tropical location (I love the mountains), just at a facility somewhere because the field interests me.

Obviously I dive. I'm good at math and love physics. I've been an EMT for several years and am in a BSN program. What should do to work my way into the career field? What makes an attractive candidate?

One important thing to remember in nursing is that you have to crawl before you can walk. First things first, graduate and pass your boards! One thing that most people dont realize is that very few nurses specialize right out of school. The best and most thorough way to get into a special field is to work your way up. A good strong base in cardiac and pulmonary medicine will look great on a resume and help get your foot in the door. After that, I would suggest finding a hyperbaric facility and starting out by just asking questions and maybe asking to shadow the doc's and nurses for a day. Sometimes something looks like it would be lots of fun but when you get down to the meat of it its not what you thought it would be. I'd start there and see how things go. Hope this makes a little sense and good luck!

Jordan.