I'm new to diving!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
None - Not Certified
Hi! I'm brand new to the art of scuba diving, and I'm extremely interested in it. I live in Georgia near Atlanta and I have heard there is a good dive shop to get certified at. Once I do get certified, I plan on getting some gear. Do you guys have any recommendations on gear that is good for a lower price?
Thank you!

howdy and welcome form southeast florida....good luck with your scuba class...when does it start?

welcome! where are you looking to get certified?

t-bone's gear recommendation if you want the best and to buy once cry once

Deep Sea Supply BP/W-$500
Deep6 Doubles Reg Kit-$850 yes I recommend doubles despite most people diving singles because of the potential for pony bottles, sidemount, and most important so you don't lose a dive if you have a first stage failure.
DIY slate for compass
Wetsuit-get whatever fits
Fins-Deep6 Eddy or Dive Rite XT
Booties-NRS Paddle Wetshoe
Mask-DGX Ultraview
Snorkel-don't bother unless you're snorkeling, in which case get whatever is cheap and simple
Computer-Hollis DG03, Deepblu Cosmiq, Dive Rite Nitek Q, Shearwater Perdix. If you want AI, and/or want the best, get the Perdix, if not, then the others have pros and cons.

Deep6 is in Macon GA btw so very close to where you are. HOG is as well though the only thing I'd probably recommend buying from them is regulators if you don't want to spend up for Deep6 which are similar, but better