Inexpensive underwater camera?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

CheddarDavis

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
I'm looking for an inexpensive underwater digital camera. I don't need anything fancy, just a basic point and shoot. I'm a college student and don't have a ton of money to spend on one so I just want something cheap. I will be doing mostly cold water lake/quarry diving with it in depths anywhere from 30 ft to 70 ft. Any recommendations?

DO NOT BUY THE SEALIFE REEFMASTER MINI. It's not worth anyones time.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

I use a point-and-shoot camera in a housing. Mine is an older camera, Canon SD-960IS. I use the Canon housing. It takes good enough photos underwater that they are a nice reminder of our dives. The case is water resistant to 130' or so. Best of all, you can also use it on land as a regular camera, although I have dedicated mine to UW use only because I do not want to damage the camera and have to buy a new setup. The point-and-shoots can do both video and photo. The quality of the photos is lacking when compared to the more expensive setups.

Another option I use is the GoPro series. A GoPro Silver would be sufficient for most needs. It is best used as a video camera but can produce acceptable photos. The videos are fantastic on them and you can purchase filters to make them even better at that depth range. I take the photos, my wife does the videos on our dives.

Define inexpensive?