Information on NAUI Divemaster and Open Water Instructor

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hello,
I am new to scubaboard and I hope I am in the right section to ask this question. I am currently finishing my NAUI Master Diver course. As soon as it is completed, I want to begin my NAUI Divemaster and NAUI Open Water Instructor courses. I have a few questions that those who have gone through this path before me can hopefully answer.

1. Am I correct in my understanding that the Divemaster course is the "hands-on", in the water training--and the open water instructor takes place on dry land in the classroom going over theory, paperwork, etc. This is what I have heard and NAUI's website is not the clearest to interpret.

2. I do not live in an area abundant with dive spots. As such, I will be making a trip to Florida to accomplish these courses. Does anyone have a rough estimate of how long each course takes. (I understand that will vary by situation, but if I could hear from a couple people it should give me a good idea as to how much vacation time I need to plan).

3. No instructors have even mentioned NAUI FIT when discussing my future plans for Divemaster and OW Instructor. Can someone who has experience with this inform me as to what it is and what I may need to prepare for.