Is Coz a good place to buy diving equipment?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Thanshin

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I have no diving equipment, is Cozumel a good place to buy, regarding price and availability.

I considering whether to buy some of the equipment here (in Spain) before the trip, or waiting to be there.

I am no expert in buying dive gear in far away countries, but I would think in a tourist area like Cozumel, the prices would be a little on the high side. I am sure there are people here that would know better than me. but it just makes sense.

My advise of buying scuba gear is to take you time. This maybe a perfect time to rent gear and lean about other brands of gear other than what you have you have in Spain. This will also keep you from having to travel with extra baggage back home.

My advise when looking at gear the #1 issue IMO is comfort. There are just so many choices nowday and nothing can replace doing your homework even after you have decided on what to buy.

My advise when looking at gear the #1 issue IMO is comfort. There are just so many choices nowday and nothing can replace doing your homework even after you have decided on what to buy.

Yes. I think I simply have no enough experience to be able to choose with any useful criteria. I'll buy a very cheap suit, because I've had problems with finding suits that fit me, and leave the rest for later.