• Welcome to ScubaBoard

1. Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
    • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
    • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Login or Register now by clicking on the button

Is it crazy to wear a hood with a shorty?

Discussion in 'Exposure Suits' started by studiokpg, Oct 20, 2012.

1. studiokpg

studiokpg Registered

Hi, I'm just getting started in scuba, and looking at my first wetsuit. I'm thinking I want a 3mm long-sleeve shorty for tropical diving which I'll be doing. But for places where it is just a bit too cold for that, thought about adding a hood, since we lose most heat from the head. Am I going to be a dork if I wear a hood with a shorty? :dork2:

2. tstormdiver

tstormdiver Instructor, Scuba

# of Dives: 2,500 - 4,999
    Not if you want to keep your brain pan warm. Might look at something like a beanie type hood. Where I dive, protection of the ears from the blue gill fish (Kentucky Piranha) is a must.:D

3. Gilldiver

Gilldiver Contributor

# of Dives: 500 - 999
    The old saying is "If your feet are cold, put on your hat" fits this question. Other considerations are that a hood can keep long hair under control or protect your head if you don't have much on top (my problem).

4. Mike2Fst

Mike2Fst Solo Diver

# of Dives:
    I wear a hood with a shorty often, if the head is warm the rest of the body is happy, at least for me.

5. spectrum

spectrum Dive Bum Wannabe ScubaBoard Supporter

No problem at all it will be a big help.