Is it crazy to wear a hood with a shorty?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

studiokpg

Registered
Reaction score
Hi, I'm just getting started in scuba, and looking at my first wetsuit. I'm thinking I want a 3mm long-sleeve shorty for tropical diving which I'll be doing. But for places where it is just a bit too cold for that, thought about adding a hood, since we lose most heat from the head. Am I going to be a dork if I wear a hood with a shorty? :dork2:

The old saying is "If your feet are cold, put on your hat" fits this question. Other considerations are that a hood can keep long hair under control or protect your head if you don't have much on top (my problem).

I wear a hood with a shorty often, if the head is warm the rest of the body is happy, at least for me.

Hi, I'm just getting started in scuba, and looking at my first wetsuit. I'm thinking I want a 3mm long-sleeve shorty for tropical diving which I'll be doing. But for places where it is just a bit too cold for that, thought about adding a hood, since we lose most heat from the head. Am I going to be a dork if I wear a hood with a shorty? :dork2:

No problem at all it will be a big help.

Be sure to realize that when on a dive intensive vacation you may be making 4-5 dves a day the shorty that is more than adequate on day one may leave you tired and skipping dives by the end of the week as silent hypothermia sets in. A shorty may not be your best first suit.

Pete

I wear a hood with a shorty.