learning to dive with a disability

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jb013

New
Reaction score
Greetings,

I'm new to diving, I'm in a five week OW certification class right now and I'm finding an issue I'm trying to work through. A little background here, due to an injury over 20yrs ago to my right leg, a great doctor and a few surgeries, I wear a KAFO to walk, have a lot of leg weakness, some nerve damage and a nice collection of canes.

Diving is something I've wanted to do since a kid and it took a long time to get the medical clearance to take the class and dream of freedom without the braces. My problem is the right leg is so weak I'm having difficulties with the kicks. Normal flutter kick has me working on a perpetual right turn or a roll. My instructor has let me come for extra practice in the pool without any extra charge but let's be honest neither he nor anyone else at the dive shop or school can relate and help me find a way to compensate so I can experience the freedom I'm longing for.

Is there anyone on this forum with a similar disability who can offer me some advice?

jb

You may need special assistance. A couple of people on the board were involved in the SUDS programme, which helped to teach disabled military vets to dive. All disabilities are different, and they came up with a number of different approaches. I am sure that they could give you some valuable insights.

My recollection is a bit imperfect, but HowardE (a site admin) was certainly involved.