Lighting recommendation for upcoming Fiji trip.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

James Casteel

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I have been a photographer for the better part of 15 years and while I have a few great shots (jamescasteel.com), however, I feel I struggle underwater. I know that part of this is because of the limited lighting that I have at the moment. Some of that is also just the limited amount of time I have spent doing it as I live in Colorado. I have a 12-day dive trip in Fiji coming up at the end of the summer and I am in a bit of a conundrum about what to take and what lights I should get.

What I have:

Cameras/housings
Nikon D800 with Ikelite housing capable of running 16-35f4, 105mm 2.8, 28mm 1.8 and a few others. Arms and floats

SeaLife phone (iphone) housing, dive tray, arms and floats

Lights
a variety of handheld torches like an ARCHON video light (with mounts to connect to arms)

While I love my D800 and what it can do, at times I feel it is unwieldy underwater in the Ikelite housing. Because of that, I find that on most dives I have been bringing my SeaLife housing. I think part of this is also because, with the lights I have, it is easier to get quality photos from my phone.

So my question is: Is it worth it to get strobes like may be DS51's to add to my D800 setup or should I upgrade my torches for my phone setup? I realize this is a personal preference, but I'd appreciate feedback from those who have more experience underwater than me.