Looking for advice, opinions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

fireplug

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I'm fairly new to diving but have been in the fire service 25+ years. I'm on a volunteer FD that has a river we respond to. Lots of boat recreational, fishing & jet ski traffic in the summer and occassional duck hunters in the fall/winter. I'm trying to wrap my brain around the concept of what kind of training & equipment I would need and how I could benefit my department with scuba diving. Our biggest interaction on the water is usually dragging with hooks for body recovery. Visibility is measured in inches or less. We have pulled up bed springs, shopping carts, outboard motors, tree limbs, etc. Any help or criticism is welcome.

Your desire to help and provide a better service for your community is to be applauded. The work of a public safety diver requires continuing education, a high degree of physical and medica fitness, and a commitment to perfection and you are willing to VOLUNTEER. Way to go!

Additionally, it takes a TEAM and with regrets, this is not something you are going to be able to take on by yourself. Conventional wisdom suggests a six man dive team consisting of a primary diver, a safety diver and a 90% diver. These three divers are supported by a team leader that is well versed in all aspects of public safety diving (with a focus on safety) and has considerable experience. The divers are also supported by a primary tender and a safety tender.