Mac or PC? Corel or what?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

kimbalabala

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
My computer is slow and will probably need to be replaced soon. I probably won't spring for a Mac, but I'm wondering if the people who are 'serious' about UW use Mac or PC, and either way, which editing software you prefer?

Thanks.

I've been using a Mac for image and photo editing since 1997. Back then Photoshop was it, and PS was much easier to use on a Mac. These days, Macs still have the edge for ease of use and long term return on your investment. I get at least 5 years out of mine before considering new hardware. The screens on the iMacs and laptops have brilliant display quality, and have color calibration profiles for proper consistency between print and electronic display.
For software, Lightroom is now my main image editor. It's much easier to use for organization and batch processing. It has fairly easy to use controls for color correction and overall image adjustment. I occasionally return to PS for local fixes or edits that are too complex for LR. I haven't gotten into video yet, so can't make any recommendation there.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk