• Welcome to ScubaBoard


  1. Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

    Benefits of registering include

    • Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
    • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
    • You can make this box go away

    Joining is quick and easy. Login or Register now by clicking on the button

Mares Dive Organizer and Window 10

Discussion in 'Mares... Just add Water!' started by coco2003, Oct 19, 2015.

  1. coco2003

    coco2003 Instructor, Scuba

    35
    5
    0
    I have a Mares Matrix computer. I upgraded my PC to windows 10. When trying to install the setup CD for the dive organizer, it wouldn't let me do it. Went to Mares of NA, software section and tried downloading dive organizer and this is the message I received:

    [TABLE="class: containercontenttable, width: 100%"]
    [TR]
    [TD="colspan: 2"]"Dive Organizer and Windows 10
    Posted by Gianluca Tedone on 12 August 2015 07:15 AM
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: kbcontents, colspan: 2"]In order to function properly, Dive Organizer requires for a particular third party driver to be installed and to function properly.
    Such driver is not compatible with W10 yet.
    As soon as a compatible version is released, there will be an upgrade of Dive Organizer that will support W10.
    At the moment, the third party driver developer (Silicon Labs) is not providing any information regarding the timing of a W10 compatible release."

    Any idea of when this driver will be available? Or is there another solution?

    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]
     
  2. zoranb

    zoranb Nassau Grouper

    # of Dives: 200 - 499
    Location: Zagreb, Croatia
    139
    9
    18
    There is a problem with the driver, which is not compatible with W10. Why is it taking Mares' subcontractor (Silicon Laboratories) to make the driver compatible with an OS which was released to developers almost a year ago is just beyond me. Why hasn't there been a fix for this trivial issue since August 12th is uncomprehensible.

    Anyway, I'm using the Diver Organizer with my icon and W10. There is a workaround to install and use the Dive Organizer on W10, but unless you are really tech savvy I don't recomend it.

    I do agree that waiting for this fix is quite frustrating.
     
  3. Kharon

    Kharon Solo Diver

    # of Dives: 200 - 499
    Location: Upstate NY
    3,878
    3,331
    113
    I never consider upgrading my OS until years after it has been released to the public. Having been a programmer/system analyst for nearly 40 years I know better.
     
    Windstrings likes this.
  4. zoranb

    zoranb Nassau Grouper

    # of Dives: 200 - 499
    Location: Zagreb, Croatia
    139
    9
    18
    Kharon likes this.
  5. Naboodiver

    Naboodiver Nassau Grouper

    # of Dives: 200 - 499
    Location: Maryville, Tennessee
    130
    14
    18
    Zoranb,

    Are you able to link to the dive computer? All of the options under Computer are greyed out for me except "Import Data from File". This ICON shows the PC and USB symbol so I assume that means the pinning is ok with the interface
     
  6. Naboodiver

    Naboodiver Nassau Grouper

    # of Dives: 200 - 499
    Location: Maryville, Tennessee
    130
    14
    18
    Same issue with new version on Windows 8.. Does not see my dive computer.. Same as above.. Anyone else seeing this?
     
  7. Naboodiver

    Naboodiver Nassau Grouper

    # of Dives: 200 - 499
    Location: Maryville, Tennessee
    130
    14
    18
    Finally figured it out. The computer was assigning the wrong USB device driver.

    How I solved it: I went to the USB ports within device manager. Properties on COM3.. Drivers (tab).. Update Driver software...Browse my computer for drivers.... Let me pick from a list of drivers on my computer.. Found one call ICON HD COM and picked it. Computer installed it and now all of the choices under computer are no longer grayed out. Holy cow.. I can't believe the installer did not manage this for me but I am glad I figured it out.

    Hope this might help others
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2015

Share This Page