minimalist

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

WeekendDiver

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Greetings!
I am a newbie with about 100 dives or so under my wetsuit and I took a dry suit class last week. In my wetsuit I felt fairly competent - good buoyancy, air consumption, in general, I felt in control of what I was doing.
Enter The Dry Suit.
I suck.
Even though my buoyancy overall was not terrible, I also wore a hood and 5mm gloves and I could barely check my SPG (yes, clipped off to those stupid halcyon weight pockets - making it even more difficult than just on my regular left D ring) I did not feel in control of my body. usually I can determine what position I am in (head up, down, whatever) without much ado, but wearing that @#$%!& drysuit (DUI C something 200) I had zero control over the micro movements. Like I said, macro control was ok - I did not bolt to the surface nor did a sink like a rock - but that subtle stuff like holding your breath for a couple of seconds to raise your torso - just was not working. Also, when I was horizontal my exhales tend to go into my wet hood (with vent) and make change the angle (horizontal that is) that I was going for.
In short, I am looking for a shoulder to cry on about my incompetence.

Live and learn do you remember your first dive? How was your bouyancy? Get back in the water and practice. No shoulders to cry on here. You can do it!