Moved to Bonaire? Please tell us your story.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Les Corkill

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
Hi Everyone,
I have been a PADI instructor for 15 years on a part-time basis given the demands of the corporate world. Like many of us I often dream about moving to an island, if not permanently, at least for a few years. I have dove Bonaire 3 times in the last 3 years. Of course, I love the diving, but I also love the people and the island as a whole.

So on this cold and rainy "spring" day in Chicago, I wanted to ask those of you who have shared my dream and moved to Bonaire, either permanently or for a shorter time, if you would share your story with us on the Scubaboard for those of us thinking about "living the dream".

Thanks.

Les..Bonaire is a GREAT place to both live and work. Unfortunately, generally speaking if you work for money, Bonaire is NOT the best place to do it if you get my drift. The average salaries are very low compared to US standards. I won't quote the statistical average but it's low.

My advice is to make your money in the states (yea I know corp America sucks)and then ease into Bonaire when you're financially able to. However if you really don't care much about money (and there are many people that fit this description, you may be one) Bonaire could be a great place for you. Some more advice...Spend much more time then 3 visits on the island to get a better feel for it.